interview: kyle stark on “it do” and other projects

Kyle Stark has long been a polarizing figure on bmxboard. He’s always been a guy who speaks his mind, especially about video related stuff. Given the nature of internet messageboards it was somewhat of a surprise when the first Team Dilly video came out and we all learned that he could both ride and make an entertaining video. Kyle brings something unique to the editing table in that he’s not afraid to sacrifice the mass appeal of a section to have a bit of fun; he can also execute a clean and straightforwad edit really nicely. Most of the sections from the first Team Dilly video Ride Away on Yo Pussy Ass Bike are online, so I’ll post them throughout the text and you can see for yourself. The new Team Dilly video It Do is out now, and available through Empire for 16 bucks. I’ll try to pick up a copy and write a review, but for now just check out bmxboard if you want to see a few people’s thoughts on it.


The trailer for “It Do”

Give a rundown of all the video projects you’ve been involved with and a quick description for each one.

Well it all started with Scene Fromthe Outside, a video I made when I was maybe 15 years old. Not much to say about that one, aside from the fact that it will destroy your VCR…literally. The next video I did was the first under the Team Dilly name, and it was titled “Ride Away on Yo’ Pussy Ass Bike”. Landon Anderson had one of my favorite sections I ever filmed in this one, as well as a few other good sections that I’m still psyched on. You can check out that whole video on google or I also just started uploading sections from it to youtube as well, take your pick. Our newest video, “It Do”, is probably my favorite video yet but I think we’ll touch on that more later.

Where did you pull the strange names for your videos from?

Haha, well the name for the last dilly video was actually a direct quote from a jive-talkin mafk at a gas station in Minneapolis. Our friend Gunch accidently had bumped into the guy while walking inside, and then twenty minutes later when this guy eventually leaves, he yelled “ride away on yo pussy ass bike, niggy!” out of his car window. Boom, title. Also the DVD menu for that video was a brilliant MS Paint visual representation of the instance drawn by our official graphic designer, Gunch…incase anyone was wondering.

The new title is actually another quote by retired MLB outfielder and designated hitter, Oscar Gamble. The full quote is “They don’t think it be like it is, but it do.” I assume this quote was pulled from some sort of an interview, but I can’t find any record of the quote anywhere legitimate on the internet. Either way I’m just gonna keep assuming he did actually say it, because its fucking hilarious.

There seems to be a subtle bit of humor in your edits, can you explain this?

There isn’t all that much to explain really, I just like to take a lighthearted approach to editing bmx videos because I feel that occasional humor is a good way to keep people entertained even if they’re not into the particular dude’s riding you know? A majority of bike videos are edited to be really epic or artsy, and it pisses me off. It’s a fucking bike video, not a full length feature film. Some can pull it off if the riding is really good, but the best videos in my opinion are the ones that take a break from the ultra-serious riding footage occasionaly and make me laugh or something.

Do you have any formal video training? What equipment are you using to film? Do you think either of those things matter much for bmx videos?

No formal video training, just sorta taught myself as I went. I personally own a Sony TRV-900, but a lot of the video was also filmed on a Panasonic DVX-100 and a Sony VX2100. I don’t think formal video training matters much at all with bmx videos, especially because a lot of the bike videos I see by film students are over-edited and cheesy. I generally think any decent 3 chip camera will do just fine for any bmx video, but after filming with a DVX recently I really want to get my hands on one. The quality of the footage is outstanding compared to any other camera commonly used to film BMX, and the difference is really noticable. DVX’s will become the industry standard soon, if not already.

What can people expect from the new Dilly video? Are there any amazing standout parts, or dudes to look out for?

You can expect an entertaining video with a bunch of dudes you’ve probably never heard of before killing a bunch of cool spots that you’ve probably never seen before, and some dancing too. My personal favorite sections in the video are Seth Peterson’s, Bink Seavey’s, and my brother Reed Stark’s. Seth does stuff that actually isn’t possible, Bink dances better than he rides but he’s not bad at that either, and my brother is the best bike rider ever. Reed and Seth are getting hooked up with flow from Sunday Bikes after Jim C saw their parts in the video, so if that doesn’t say something then I don’t know what does. Look out for those two, bigtime.

Is this an all street video? Were you guys actively seeking out new spots or going on trips to film it? Where was the bulk of the footage for “It Do” shot?

Yeah, the video is probably 98% street footage. I’m always actively seeking new spots pretty much every time I ride or drive in a car, and I’m always thinking of what my friends could do on the setups I find. Then I bring them there and if nobody wants to do it, then Reed will do it and tell me its a scrap clip. Haha that’s seriously how a large amount of the clips in the video happened, but I can’t take credit for everything because everyone else is always looking for spots too. Almost the entire video was filmed in and around Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minnesota, aside from Bink’s section and some clips in Seth’s and my parts which were filmed in Phoenix, Arizona.

Is there anything unique about this video that you would like to mention? What’s the most compelling reason for people to pick up a copy? Where can it be purchased?

Man, I don’t know. Team Dilly is all about having fun, so if you like fun you’ll like Team Dilly…and if you like Team Dilly you’ll like “It Do”. It’s a bunch of unique street riding by a group of good friends, full of truly progressive riding as well as all sorts of goofy shit. If that sounds like something you’d be into, go order one off of our myspace page at http://www.myspace.com/teamdilly for $15 shipped (It’s also available at Empire). You wont regret it. Man I wrote way too much in this fucking interview, nobody’s going to want to read this shit!

2 Responses to “interview: kyle stark on “it do” and other projects”

  1. [...] Inerview over at No Bikes Kyle Stark has long been a polarizing figure on bmxboard. He’s always been a guy who speaks his mind, especially about video related stuff. Given the nature of internet messageboards it was somewhat of a surprise when the first Team Dilly video came out and we all learned that he could both ride and make an entertaining video. Kyle brings something unique to the editing table in that he’s not afraid to sacrifice the mass appeal of a section to have a bit of fun; he can also execute a clean and straightforwad edit really nicely. Most of the sections from Ride Away on Yo Pussy Ass Bike are online, so I’ll post them throughout the text and you can see for yourself. The new Team Dilly video It Do is available through Empire for 16 bucks. I’ll try to pick up a copy and write a review, but for now just check out bmxboard if you want to see a few people’s thoughts on it.- More at No Bikes! [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

